ToolsCompareBlog Download

Counter44 vs Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary

Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary has a free barcode scanner and Apple Health sync. See how it compares with Counter44 on price, privacy and progress photos.

Disclosure: Counter44 is our app. We’ve tried to keep this comparison fair, and that means saying plainly where MyNetDiary is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store as of October 2026.

Quick answer

Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary by MyNetDiary Inc., better known as MyNetDiary, is a calorie and nutrition tracker for iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android, with a free barcode scanner and a food database its listing puts at over 2 million foods. It holds 4.81 from 169,900 US ratings. The catch is the paywall: photo logging, fasting, diabetes tracking and adaptive targets need Premium, and the store page lists four Premium prices without saying which is monthly or yearly.

Counter44 is a calorie and macro tracker for iPhone, iPad and Android. You log from about 7,200 bundled USDA-derived foods, your own custom foods or a Quick Add entry, and your data stays on the device, with no account. The food log, targets, weight, water, exercise and progress photos are free. Pro adds the Statistics tab, longer weight trends, more meal reminders and every theme.

If you want to scan barcodes, photograph your plate or sync with Apple Health and a watch, pick MyNetDiary. Counter44 is the better fit for a plain food log with no account and progress photos in the same app.

Side-by-side

FeatureCounter44Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary
PlatformsiOS + AndroidiOS + Watch + Android
US App Store rating1 rating, too few to compare4.81 (169,860)
Last updatedOctober 2026October 2026
Free-tier limitsFood log, targets, macros, weight, water, exercise, progress photos and streaks are free. Pro adds statistics, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and every themeUnlimited diary, barcode scanner, 108 nutrients, Apple Health and the Watch app are free. Meal Scan, fasting, diabetes tracking and adaptive targets need Premium
Paid plansPro, $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trialMyNetDiary Premium at $8.99, $59.99, $39.99 or $29.99; Premium Plus at $14.99. Billing periods are not listed
Food loggingYes, from the bundled food list, custom foods or Quick Add calories and macrosYes, unlimited diary with search, favorites, recent meals, copy-from-day and voice logging
Food databaseAbout 7,200 USDA-derived foods, bundled offlineOver 2 million foods from USDA and NCC sources, per its listing
Barcode scannerNoYes, free
Photo meal loggingNoYes, Meal Scan needs Premium; AI Restaurant Menu Scan needs Premium Plus
Calorie and macro targetsYes, estimated with Mifflin-St Jeor, with a 30/40/30 macro split you can changeYes, macro planning is free; adaptive targets (Advanced Autopilot) and calorie cycling need Premium
MicronutrientsNot statedYes, up to 108 nutrients, free
Weight trackingYes, kg or lb with a trend chart; 90- and 365-day trends need ProYes, charts and reports, free; body measurements need Premium
ExerciseYes, calories burned are typed in, with an optional add-back toggleYes, free. How burned calories are counted is not stated
Apple Health and wearablesNo, no Apple Health or Health ConnectYes, Apple Health sync is free; Fitbit, Garmin and Withings sync need Premium. Health Connect is not stated
Progress photosYes, a photo a day, side-by-side compare and an MP4 timelapseNot stated
Intermittent fastingNot statedYes, Premium
Blood glucose, blood pressure and medicationsNot statedYes, Premium, including diabetes tracking
Recipes and meal plansNot statedYes, custom recipes are free; recipe import, Meal Planner and 600+ dietitian recipes need Premium
Multiple profilesNot statedNot stated
ExportCSV of the food log and weight history (added in 1.1.0, October 2026); MP4 timelapseNot stated
LanguagesEnglishEnglish
AdsNoNo, per its listing
Account requiredNoNo, per its listing
Data stays on deviceYes, no account and no cloud syncNot stated
Privacy labelDeclares no data used to track you. Data Not Linked to You: Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data, DiagnosticsData Used to Track You: Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data, Other Data
Feature comparison as of October 2026, based on each app’s US App Store listing, description, and privacy label. Ratings are US store totals.

Where Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary wins

You can scan food instead of searching for it. MyNetDiary’s listing calls its barcode scanner free, and reviewers praise it. On Premium, Meal Scan logs a meal from a photo of your plate, and Premium Plus adds an AI Restaurant Menu Scan. Counter44 has no barcode scanner and no photo or AI food recognition, so every entry is a search, a custom food or a typed-in number.

A far bigger food list, with micronutrients. Per its listing, MyNetDiary has a database of over 2 million foods built on USDA and NCC sources, with up to 108 nutrients per entry, covering vitamins and minerals as well as omegas and amino acids. Reviewers say restaurant meals are easy to find, though others report wrong or missing entries. Counter44 bundles about 7,200 USDA-derived foods and has no online food search. Its listing does not mention micronutrients.

It connects to Apple Health and your wearables. Apple Health sync is free and, per the listing, writes 51 data types and reads 14. The Apple Watch app and widgets are on the free tier too. Premium adds Fitbit, Garmin and Withings sync. Counter44 has no Apple Health or Health Connect and no Watch app, and you type in calories burned yourself.

Premium covers more kinds of tracking. MyNetDiary Premium adds intermittent fasting, adaptive calorie targets (Advanced Autopilot updates calories and macros weekly from your logs), body measurements, blood pressure, blood glucose, A1C, ketones, medications and diabetes tracking. It also has a GLP-1 Companion, added in April 2026, for people taking medications such as Ozempic or Mounjaro. On the free tier, Professional Connect lets you share your diary with a dietitian, coach or doctor. Counter44’s listing does not mention fasting, glucose or medication logs, adaptive targets or diary sharing.

Where Counter44 wins

One Pro plan, with both prices spelled out. MyNetDiary’s store page lists four prices under the same “MyNetDiary Premium” name and a fifth for Premium Plus, with no billing periods. Its listing promises “no paywall tricks”, but a recurring complaint in reviews is that the free version is not really free: reviewers say the setup questions end at a payment screen and that upgrade pop-ups keep coming. Counter44 Pro is $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial. The food log, targets, macros, weight, water, exercise, progress photos and streaks stay free.

Your food log stays on your phone. MyNetDiary’s privacy label lists Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data and Other Data under Data Used to Track You, and declares Health & Fitness and User Content collected, not linked to you, for app functionality. Counter44 keeps your data on the device, with no account. Its label declares no data used to track you and lists Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics, not linked to you, for analytics.

Progress photos come built in. MyNetDiary’s listing does not mention progress photos. Counter44 lets you take a progress photo on any day, compare two side by side, and export a 1080×1920 MP4 timelapse with your weight chart over it. These are photos of you, not of your food.

Pricing

  • Counter44 is free for the food log, calorie and macro targets, weight tracking with a 30-day trend, water, exercise, progress photos, streaks, custom foods and Quick Add. Pro adds the Statistics tab, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and every theme, at $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial.
  • Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary is free for the unlimited food diary, barcode scanner, voice logging, macro tracking, 108 nutrients, water, exercise, Apple Health sync and the Apple Watch app. MyNetDiary Premium is listed at $8.99, $59.99, $39.99 and $29.99, and Premium Plus (AI Coach) at $14.99. The store page doesn’t spell out which Premium price is monthly, yearly or an offer.

A year of Counter44 Pro costs $29.99 on the annual plan; the weekly plan comes to $155.48 over 52 weeks. You can’t work out what a year of MyNetDiary Premium costs from the store page, because none of its prices carries a billing period.

Which one should you pick?

Pick Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary if you want to scan barcodes or photograph meals, need a large food database with up to 108 nutrients, or want your log tied to Apple Health and an Apple Watch. It’s also the one to pick if you need fasting, blood glucose or medication logs, or Fitbit, Garmin or Withings sync, and don’t mind paying for Premium to get them.

Pick Counter44 if you are happy searching a bundled food list or typing in calories, want your log kept on the device with no account, want progress photos and a timelapse in the same app, or prefer one Pro plan with both prices on the store page.

Counter44’s calorie target is an estimate, not medical advice, and you can check the math yourself. Our free food calories by weight calculator scales a label’s calories and macros to the grams you ate, and the exercise calories eat back calculator shows how a workout changes the day’s target. Both run in the browser, with no download. For more apps side by side, see our calorie tracker roundup.

Frequently asked questions

Is Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary free?

Partly. Its listing says the free version includes an unlimited food diary, a barcode scanner, macro tracking, 108 nutrients, water tracking, Apple Health sync and the Apple Watch app. Meal Scan photo logging, intermittent fasting, diabetes tracking and adaptive calorie targets need Premium, and a recurring complaint in reviews is that the free version is not really free. Counter44 is free for its food log, targets, weight, water, exercise and progress photos, with Pro at $29.99 a year.

How much does Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary Premium cost?

The App Store lists four prices under the name MyNetDiary Premium: $8.99, $59.99, $39.99 and $29.99, plus Premium Plus at $14.99. The store page gives no billing periods, so it does not say which price is monthly, yearly or an offer. Counter44 Pro is $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial.

Does Counter44 have a barcode scanner like Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary?

No. MyNetDiary's listing includes a free barcode scanner. Counter44 has no barcode scanner and no online food search. You pick from about 7,200 USDA-derived foods bundled in the app, add your own custom foods, or Quick Add calories and macros by hand.

Can Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary log a meal from a photo?

Yes, with Premium. Its Meal Scan feature matches a photo of your plate against its food database, and reviewers say you get only a limited number of free scans before it asks you to upgrade. Counter44 has no photo or AI food recognition. Its photo features are progress photos of you, with a side-by-side compare and an MP4 timelapse.

Does Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary sync with Apple Health?

Yes. Per its listing, Apple Health sync is free and writes 51 data types and reads 14, and Premium adds Fitbit, Garmin and Withings sync. It also has an Apple Watch app. Counter44 has no Apple Health or Health Connect and no Watch app, and you type in calories burned yourself.

Do I need an account for Counter44 or Calorie Counter - MyNetDiary?

Neither listing requires one, though some reviewers mention MyNetDiary asking them to sign in. Counter44 keeps your data on the device, with no account, and its privacy label declares no data used to track you. MyNetDiary's label lists Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data and Other Data under Data Used to Track You.