ToolsCompareBlog Download

Counter44 vs Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker

Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker adds lessons, coaching and GLP-1 care to a food log. See how it compares with Counter44 on price, free tier and privacy.

Disclosure: Counter44 is our app. We’ve tried to write this comparison honestly, and that includes the places where Noom is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store as of October 2026.

Quick answer

Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker by Noom, Inc., better known as Noom, pairs AI food logging with daily lessons on habits, optional 1:1 coaching and, in its Noom Med program, online doctors and GLP-1 medication if eligible. It has been on the App Store since 2013 and runs on iPhone and Android. What the listing never says is what the free download includes.

Counter44 logs meals from about 7,200 bundled USDA-derived foods, your own custom foods, or a Quick Add of calories and macros, against a calorie target and macro split you can edit. The food log, targets, weight, water and exercise tracking are free. Your data stays on the device, and there’s no account.

Pick Noom if you want lessons, a coach or a medical program around your food log. If you just want a plain calorie and macro log with a clear free tier and no account, pick Counter44.

Side-by-side

FeatureCounter44Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker
PlatformsiOS + Android (iPhone, iPad, Google Play)iOS + Android (iPhone only on iOS)
US App Store ratingOne rating so far, too few to compare4.70 (873,459)
Last updatedOctober 2026October 2026
Free-tier limitsFood log, targets, weight, water and exercise are free. Pro unlocks the Statistics tab, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and every theme (3 of 30+ are free)Not stated on the listing. Reviewers say manual food search and past days now need a subscription; some mention barcode scanning too
Paid plansPro - Weekly $2.99; Pro - Annual $29.99; 7-day free trialNoom Program at $44.99, $98.99, $129.99, $159.99 and $199.99, no period stated. On the web: Noom Weight from $17 a month (based on a $209 annual plan), Noom Med from $39 for the first month, medication extra
Food loggingYes, from the bundled database, custom foods or Quick AddYes, AI food logging. Whether it is free is not stated
Food databaseAbout 7,200 USDA-derived foods, bundled and offline1M+ food items, source not stated. Reviewers report wrong or duplicate entries
Barcode scannerNoNot stated on the listing; reviewers describe scanning barcodes
Photo or AI food loggingNo. Its photos are progress photos of you, not foodYes, AI food logging per the listing; reviewers describe photo and describe-a-meal logging
Calorie and macro targetsYes, a Mifflin-St Jeor calorie target and a 30/40/30 macro split, both editableProtein and calorie tracking per the listing; carb and fat targets not stated
Multiple profilesNot statedNot stated
Log to past daysYes, with a day pager, plus copying a past day’s meal (added in 1.1.0, October 2026)Not stated. Reviewers say past days can’t be viewed or edited
Weight trackingYes, kg or lb with a smoothed trend chart; 90- and 365-day trends are ProNot stated on the listing; reviewers describe weigh-ins, and some mention a weight graph
Water trackingYesNot stated on the listing; reviewers describe tracking water
ExerciseYes, calories burned are typed in, with an optional add-back toggleStep tracking and 1,000+ fitness, stretching and meditation classes; logging exercise calories is not stated
Apple Health and wearablesNo, no Apple Health or Health ConnectYes, Apple Health, Fitbit, Garmin and more; Health Connect not stated
Lessons, coaching and communityNot statedYes, daily lessons on habits, optional 1:1 coaching and a community
Doctors and GLP-1 medicationNot stated. Calorie targets are estimates, not medical adviceYes, in the paid Noom Med program, if eligible, with medication extra
Recipes, meal plans and fastingNot statedYes, meal plans and dietitian-backed recipes; intermittent fasting support in Noom Weight
Rewards and streaksYes, streak badges from 3 to 365 daysYes, rewards for showing up; reviewers say the pop-ups and animations slow down logging
ExportCSV of the food log and weight history (added in 1.1.0, October 2026); timelapse MP4Not stated
Languages1 (English)4 (English, German, Korean, Spanish)
AdsNoNo, per its listing; reviewers say it promotes its own GLP-1 program and upgrades
Account requiredNoNot stated as a requirement; the privacy label lists Contact Info and Identifiers linked to you, and reviewers describe signing in
Data stays on deviceYes, with no accountNo; the privacy label lists Health & Fitness data as linked to you
Privacy labelNo data used to track you. Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data and Diagnostics, not linked to youData Used to Track You: Purchases, Financial Info, Location, User Content, Identifiers, Sensitive Info
Feature comparison as of October 2026, based on each app’s US App Store listing, description, and privacy label. Ratings are US store totals.

Where Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker wins

It wraps a whole habit program around the log. Per its listing, the food log sits alongside daily lessons on habits and behavior change, optional 1:1 coaching, meal plans with dietitian-backed recipes, a community, and intermittent fasting support in its Noom Weight plan. Reviewers say the lessons on habits are the part that helps. Counter44 sets a calorie target and a macro split and leaves the rest to you.

More ways to log, from a far bigger database. The listing names AI food logging with 1M+ food items, and reviewers describe snapping a photo of a meal, describing it in words, or scanning a barcode. Counter44 has no barcode scanner, no photo or AI food recognition and no online food search: you pick from about 7,200 bundled foods, add a custom food from the label, or Quick Add the numbers. Reviewers are split on how well the AI reads a meal, though, and they report wrong or duplicate database entries.

It connects to Apple Health and wearables. Per its listing, Noom syncs with Apple Health, Fitbit, Garmin and more. It also adds step tracking and over 1,000 fitness, stretching and meditation classes. Counter44 doesn’t connect to Apple Health or Health Connect, so you type calories burned in by hand.

It has a medical track. Noom Med is a program inside the same app. It offers online access to doctors and health coaches and GLP-1 medication, if eligible, and the listing notes that not all customers will medically qualify. Plans start at $39 a month for the first month only, and medication costs extra. Counter44 is a calorie and macro tracker, and its targets are estimates, not medical advice.

Where Counter44 wins

You know what’s free before you start. Noom’s listing says only “Free” with in-app purchases and never lists what the free version includes. Reviewers say manual food search, the calorie counter and past days have moved behind a subscription, and some mention barcode scanning too. In Counter44, the food log, calorie and macro targets, weight, water, exercise, photo-a-day, streaks, custom foods and Quick Add are all free. Pro adds the Statistics tab, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and every theme.

Logging stays quick, for today or last week. Reviewers say Noom’s seeds, animations and pop-ups get between them and logging a meal, that the app can be slow to open, and that logging food is tedious. Going back to view or edit past days isn’t possible, they say. Counter44 has Quick Add for calories and macros, a day pager for logging to past days, and, since version 1.1.0 in October 2026, a way to copy a past day’s meal to today.

It keeps your data on the device, with no account. Noom’s privacy label declares Purchases, Financial Info, Location, User Content, Identifiers and Sensitive Info used to track you, and lists Health & Fitness data as linked to you. Counter44’s label declares no data used to track you. Counter44 has no ads. Noom has none either, per its listing, but reviewers say it pushes its own GLP-1 program and upgrades inside the app.

It runs on iPad. Noom’s App Store version is built for iPhone only. Counter44 runs on iPhone, iPad and Android.

Pricing

  • Counter44 is free for the food log, calorie and macro targets, weight, water and exercise tracking, photo-a-day, streaks, custom foods and Quick Add. Pro adds the Statistics tab, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and every theme for $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial.
  • Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker is free to download, but the listing doesn’t say what the free version includes. The App Store lists five in-app purchases, all named Noom Program, at $44.99, $98.99, $129.99, $159.99 and $199.99, with no period stated for any of them. The description quotes web prices: Noom Weight “as low as $17 a month”, based on a $209 annual plan bought on the web, and Noom Med from $39 for the first month, not including medication. The listing gives no trial length. Reviewers describe auto-renewal without warning, refused refunds and trouble cancelling.

Over a year, that’s $29.99 for Counter44 Pro against $209 for Noom Weight’s web annual plan. Noom’s App Store prices can’t be compared by the year, because none of them states a period.

Which one should you pick?

Pick Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker if you want lessons, coaching and a community around your food log, AI food logging from a large database, sync with Apple Health, Fitbit or Garmin, or a clinician-led GLP-1 program (if eligible, with medication extra), and you’re fine paying a program price.

Pick Counter44 if you want a plain calorie and macro log with a free tier you can read up front, quick logging for today or past days, weight, water and progress photos in the same app, Pro at $29.99 a year, and your data kept on the device, with no account.

Without a barcode scanner, you log packaged food from its label. Our free food calories by weight calculator scales a label’s calories and macros to the grams you ate, and the macros to calories calculator checks a label’s math. Both run in the browser, with no download. For more apps side by side, see our calorie tracker app roundup.

Frequently asked questions

Is Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker free?

It is free to download, but its App Store listing does not say what the free version includes. The store lists five in-app purchases named Noom Program, from $44.99 to $199.99, with no period stated for any of them. The description quotes web plans: Noom Weight from $17 a month, based on a $209 annual plan, and Noom Med from $39 for the first month, with medication extra. Reviewers say manual food search and past days now need a subscription, and some mention barcode scanning too. Counter44 is free for the food log, calorie and macro targets, weight, water and exercise; Pro is $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial.

Does Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker have a barcode scanner?

Its listing names AI food logging with 1M+ food items but does not mention a barcode scanner. Reviewers describe scanning barcodes in the app, and some reviewers mention that it now needs a subscription. Counter44 has no barcode scanner, no photo or AI food recognition and no online food search: you log from about 7,200 bundled USDA-derived foods, your own custom foods, or a Quick Add of calories and macros.

What is Noom Med in Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker?

Noom Med is a program inside the same app, not a separate download. Per the listing, it offers online access to doctors and health coaches and GLP-1 medication if eligible, and not all customers will medically qualify. Plans start at $39 a month for the first month only, and that price does not include the cost of medication. Counter44 is a calorie and macro tracker, and its calorie targets are estimates, not medical advice.

Does Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker sync with Apple Health?

Yes. Its listing says it syncs with Apple Health, Fitbit, Garmin and more, and it adds step tracking. Health Connect is not stated. Reviewers report the sync breaking at times for steps or workouts. Counter44 does not connect to Apple Health or Health Connect, and you type in calories burned yourself.

Does Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker need an account?

Its listing does not state one as a requirement, but its privacy label lists Contact Info and Identifiers as data linked to you, and reviewers describe signing in to an account. The label also declares Purchases, Financial Info, Location, User Content, Identifiers and Sensitive Info used to track you. Counter44 needs no account, keeps your data on the device, and its privacy label declares no data used to track you.

Does Noom Weight Loss, Food Tracker work on iPad?

Its App Store version is built for iPhone only, with no iPad app. It is also on Google Play for Android. Counter44 runs on iPhone, iPad and Android.