Counter44 vs Lose It! – Calorie Counter
Lose It! – Calorie Counter has a free basic tier, with barcode scans and macros in Premium. See how it compares with Counter44 on price, ads and privacy.
Disclosure: Counter44 is our app. We wrote this comparison honestly and say where Lose It! is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store as of October 2026.
Quick answer
Lose It! – Calorie Counter by FitNow, Inc. is a calorie counter with a large food database, a free basic tier and a long Premium list. It has been on the App Store since 2008 and runs on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, plus Android, where it is listed as Calorie Counter by Lose It! from the same developer. The catch is that barcode scanning, photo logging, macro tracking and Apple Health sync all need Premium, and the app shows ads.
Counter44 (listed as Calorie Tracker - Counter44 by EHM TECH LLC) is a calorie and macro tracker that logs food from a bundled list of about 7,200 USDA-derived foods, your own custom foods or Quick Add. The food log, calorie and macro targets, weight, water and exercise are free, with no ads and no account.
If you want to scan barcodes, log meals from a photo or sync a watch and fitness devices, Lose It! fits better. If you’d rather have free macros, no ads and your data kept on the device, Counter44 is the better pick.
Side-by-side
| Feature | Counter44 | Lose It! – Calorie Counter |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iOS + Android (iPhone and iPad) | iOS + Watch + Android (iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch) |
| US App Store rating | One rating so far, too few to compare | 4.8 (781,900 ratings) |
| On the App Store since | 2026 | 2008 |
| Last updated | October 2026 | October 2026 |
| Free-tier limits | The Statistics tab, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and all but 3 of 30+ themes need Pro | Free basic tier: calorie tracking for meals and exercise, a weight loss plan and community support. Everything on the Premium list needs a purchase |
| Paid plans | Pro, $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial | Lose It! Premium at seven prices from $9.99 to $79.99, Premium Features at $39.99, Premium Lifetime at $49.99 or $59.99. Billing periods not shown; free trial length not stated |
| Food logging | Yes, free, from the bundled foods, custom foods or Quick Add | Yes, free |
| Food database | About 7,200 USDA-derived foods, bundled and offline; no online food search | 56+ million items and recipes, per its description; source not stated |
| Barcode scanner | No | Yes, Premium |
| Photo or AI food recognition | No | Yes, Premium: photo meal logging and AI voice logging |
| Daily calorie target | Yes, free, from Mifflin-St Jeor and an activity multiplier; an estimate | Yes, a personalized daily calorie budget; tier not stated |
| Macro tracking and targets | Yes, free, with a 30/40/30 default split you can change | Yes, Premium |
| Vitamins, minerals and health metrics | Not stated | Yes, Premium: vitamins, minerals, blood pressure, glucose, cholesterol, body measurements and sleep |
| Weight tracking | Yes, with a trend chart; 90- and 365-day trends are Pro | Yes, tier not stated |
| Exercise logging | Yes, free; calories burned are typed in | Yes, free; calorie-burn estimates not stated |
| Apple Health / Health Connect | No | Apple Health (listed as Healthkit) and Google Fit, plus Fitbit, Misfit, Garmin and Withings scales, all Premium; Health Connect not named |
| Intermittent fasting | Not stated | Yes, Premium |
| GLP-1 medication logging | Not stated | Yes, tier not stated |
| Community and friends | Not stated | Yes, free: add friends and join support groups |
| Progress photos | Yes, a photo a day, side-by-side compare and a timelapse MP4 | Not stated |
| Multiple profiles | Not stated | Not stated |
| Export | CSV of the food log and weight history (added in 1.1.0, October 2026); timelapse MP4 | Not stated |
| Languages | English | 8 |
| Ads | No | Yes; the listing does not say Premium removes them |
| Account required | No | Not stated |
| Data stays on device | Yes, with no account | No; its label lists Health & Fitness data linked to you |
| Privacy label | Declares no data used to track you | Declares Contact Info, Identifiers and Usage Data used to track you |
Where Lose It! – Calorie Counter wins
Faster ways to log food, with Premium. Lose It!‘s Premium list includes a barcode scanner, photo meal logging (“Log meals by taking a picture”) and AI voice logging, where you say what you ate in a sentence. Reviewers say they like the barcode scanner, but they also say it moved behind Premium. Counter44 has no barcode scanner and no photo or AI food recognition. Its photo features are progress photos of you, not of your food. You search its bundled food list, add a custom food or use Quick Add.
A much bigger food database. Lose It!‘s description lists “56+ million items and recipes,” without naming a source. Reviewers say the database is deep, though they also say some entries are inaccurate, and some mention duplicate entries for the same food. Counter44 bundles about 7,200 USDA-derived foods that work offline, and it has no online food search. If a food is not in the list, you add it as a custom food.
Apple Health, a Watch app and fitness devices. Under its Premium Fitness App Syncs, Lose It! names Healthkit, Google Fit, Fitbit, Misfit, Garmin and Withings scales. It also has an Apple Watch app. Counter44 has no Apple Health or Health Connect connection and no Watch app, and you type in the calories burned for each workout.
More to track, and people to track it with. Premium adds vitamins, minerals, blood pressure, glucose, cholesterol, body measurements, sleep and intermittent fasting. The listing also describes GLP-1 medication logging (tier not stated) and a free community where you add friends and join support groups. Lose It! has been on the App Store since 2008 and holds 4.8 stars from 781,900 US ratings. Reviewers say it is easy to use. Counter44 arrived on the App Store in 2026.
Where Counter44 wins
Macros without paying. Lose It!‘s listing puts macro tracking for protein, carbs, fat and sugar, plus meal targets, under Premium, and reviewers say the daily macro breakdown now needs Premium. Counter44 sets a calorie target with Mifflin-St Jeor and a 30/40/30 protein, carb and fat split you can change, and tracks both for free. The targets are estimates, not medical advice.
No ads. Lose It!‘s age rating lists Advertising, Google Play says it contains ads, and its privacy label lists Third-Party Advertising. The listing does not say Premium removes them. Reviewers say they see ads in the app, and those who paid say ads or upgrade offers kept coming after they upgraded. Counter44 shows no ads on the free or Pro plan.
No account and no tracking on the label. Lose It!‘s privacy label declares Contact Info, Identifiers and Usage Data used to track you, and lists Health & Fitness data linked to you. Counter44 needs no account, keeps your data on the device and works offline. Its label declares no data used to track you.
Pricing
- Counter44 is free for the food log, calorie and macro targets, weight, water, exercise, photo-a-day, streaks, custom foods and Quick Add. Pro adds the Statistics tab, 90- and 365-day weight trends, more than three meal reminders and every theme (3 of the 30+ themes are free), for $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial.
- Lose It! – Calorie Counter by FitNow, Inc. is free for calorie tracking of meals and exercise, a weight loss plan and community support. Premium adds the barcode scanner, photo and voice logging, macro and nutrient tracking, fasting, meal plans and fitness app syncs. The App Store lists Lose It! Premium at $9.99, $11.99, $19.99, $23.99, $29.99, $39.99 and $79.99, Premium Features at $39.99, and Premium Lifetime at $49.99 and $59.99, with no billing periods. The description confirms a yearly subscription and a free trial but gives neither the yearly price nor the trial length.
A year of Counter44 Pro costs $29.99 on the annual plan, or $155.48 if you pay weekly for 52 weeks. Lose It!‘s store page does not say which price is the yearly one, and reviewers say the annual plan runs about $80. Reviewers also say cancelling can be hard, and some say the subscription does not appear in Apple’s subscription settings.
Which one should you pick?
Pick Lose It! – Calorie Counter if you want to scan barcodes, log meals by photo or voice, search a database of millions of foods, sync with Apple Health, Fitbit or Garmin, use it on an Apple Watch, track fasting or vitamins, or log alongside friends, and you are fine paying for Premium and seeing ads.
Pick Counter44 if you want calorie and macro targets for free, no ads, no account and your data kept on the device, and you are happy to log from about 7,200 bundled foods, your own custom foods or Quick Add.
Logging from a label instead of a barcode? Our free food calories by weight calculator scales a label’s calories and macros to the grams you ate, and the macros to calories calculator turns grams of protein, carbs and fat into calories. Both run in your browser, with nothing to download. The other apps we compared are in our roundup of calorie tracker apps.
Frequently asked questions
Is Lose It! – Calorie Counter free?
It has a free basic tier: calorie tracking for meals and exercise, a weight loss plan and community support. Its listing puts barcode scanning, photo and voice logging, macro and nutrient tracking, intermittent fasting, meal plans and fitness app syncs under Premium. The US App Store lists Premium purchases from $9.99 to $79.99 without billing periods, and the app shows ads. Counter44 is free to download, with the food log, calorie and macro targets, weight, water and exercise free and no ads. Its Pro plan is $29.99 a year or $2.99 a week, with a 7-day free trial.
Does Lose It! – Calorie Counter or Counter44 have a barcode scanner?
Lose It! does, as a Premium feature. Its listing also puts photo meal logging and AI voice logging under Premium. Counter44 has no barcode scanner and no photo or AI food recognition. You log from a bundled list of about 7,200 USDA-derived foods that works offline, add your own custom foods, or use Quick Add for calories and macros.
Does Lose It! – Calorie Counter track macros for free?
Its listing puts macro tracking (protein, carbs, fat and sugar) and meal targets under Premium. Counter44 tracks macros for free, with a 30/40/30 protein, carb and fat split by default that you can change. Counter44's targets are estimates, not medical advice.
Does Lose It! – Calorie Counter sync with Apple Health?
Yes, with Premium. Its listing names Healthkit, Google Fit, Fitbit, Misfit, Garmin and Withings scales under Fitness App Syncs, a Premium feature. Health Connect is not named. It also has an Apple Watch app. Counter44 has no Apple Health or Health Connect connection and no Apple Watch app, and you type in the calories burned for each exercise session.
Does Lose It! – Calorie Counter have ads, and do I need an account?
It has ads: its App Store age rating lists Advertising, Google Play says it contains ads, and its privacy label lists Third-Party Advertising. The listing does not say Premium removes them. It also does not say whether you need an account, though its privacy label lists Contact Info as linked to you and your email address as used to track you. Counter44 has no ads and no account, keeps your data on the device, and its privacy label declares no data used to track you.